How much is enough?

I have so many thoughts about every thing that is going on in the world right now. Excuse me if this seems a little unorganized.

Today on August 13, 2017, I feel like we have time traveled. We are taking steps backwards instead of advancing.

BASIC Human Rights are being questioned and DENIED.

Some of us can literally turn on the television or log onto social media and see people that look like us or that we can identify with being Murdered. 

How traumatic is it to know that people that you work with or come into close contact with on a daily basis harbor such hate in them for your being?

How crazy is it to know that nothing is being done to protect us? Why should we even need to be protected from these things in 2017?

What is even crazier is that people that were closeted or quiet racists, bigots etc now feel completely comfortable being so openly. No more hiding of faces or making slurs behind closed doors.

It kills me because people are worried about explaining certain things to their children but how do you really explain America today to your child?

People may ask are you surprised? And to me that shouldn’t even be the question anymore. We shouldn’t have to get used to this society. We shouldn’t have to be overally cautious of being who we are.

I’m overwhelmed. What the hell is the solution? What do we do? We are beyond conversations at this point. I shouldn’t have to convince you my life is equally as important.

I’m still a firm believer in we are stronger and better together than we are apart. Stop making excuses for the injustices. Stop trying to fall in line to be accepted.

I don’t have the answers. All of this is bigger than one individual. So I ask again…what do we do??

Leave a Reply

