Peace of Mind

Having peace of mind is one of the most important things to me. Life can be overwhelming and chaotic.  We all need that space and that time where we are just at peace. Whether it be drawing, writing, making music, cooking, or working out, we all need that thing that makes us feel good. 

Peace of mind might mean two different things to a man and or woman, or even just two individuals in general. Maybe what gives her peace of mind is a clean house to come home to, and maybe his peace of mind is leaving him alone for an hour (or several) to play his video game. Or vice versa… don’t want to feed into any stereotypes today. 

Whatever it is that gives you the peace you need, find it and make time for it. A little while ago I was going through some things and I felt like my life was all over the place…I was all over the place, and a good friend said to me “you’re in this place right now because you are not doing anything in your life that you enjoy doing on the regular” She was right. My life had become a boring routine.  I didn’t have anything fun or exciting to look forward to. Then she proceeded to tell me that at least once a week she makes time for something that she enjoys doing and that day is set aside just for that.

My initial thought was “wow a whole day?” Lol. She has the right idea though. We spend majority of our week just getting through the week. Think about that. How many things can you look back on at the end of the week and say that was great? For me it wasn’t many, and it’s still something I’m working on. 

Why do we have to wait until Friday or Saturday? Have that glass of wine on a Tuesday night (notice I said glass), or Henny if that’s what you’re into and just relax. Go see a movie, get something to eat, sleep, or do absolutely nothing and own it. It’s okay to relax. 

I don’t know where this whole “sleep is for the weak” or “I’ll sleep when I’m dead” thing came from. Life is meant to be lived and enjoyed. My goal is to make the best of mine. I challenge you to make time for something that makes you feel good at least once a week and see what a difference it makes. I’m here for the feedback as well. 

One thought on “Peace of Mind

Leave a Reply

