Settling in your Comfort Zone

Let me start by saying this: I’m all about my comfort zone. I often keep a lot of things to myself and stick to what I know for sure, simply because it’s comfortable. I know what to expect. If I do A and B then C will happen. I’m guilty of this and I’m sure most people are. We like knowing what is going to happen before it actually happens. We kid ourselves by thinking if we plan everything out things will go according to plan. Lies.

Let’s be honest, probably majority of the things we plan to do on a daily basis don’t happen. If they do, pat yourself on the back lol. I’ve come to realize that what stops me from some of the things I want and like to do is not wanting to experience feeling uncomfortable.

Let me speak to those who don’t feel me yet. All year we complain about how our body looks and how we want to get in shape. We sign up and then it’s time to go to the gym for the first time (or if you’re like me the first time again). Before starting something new, like the gym for instance, our minds fill up with the “what ifs”. What if I look stupid at the gym? What if my new job sucks more than my current job? What if I put myself out there and get “dubbed” What if I suck at this. The list can go on forever. Notice how our what ifs are negative.

Why not what if I body this? What if I grow from this? Granted everything isn’t all rainbows and butterflies. So if you fail? Learn from it, so you can do differently next time. If your new or current job sucks, take what you can from it until you can change it or change your situation.

We are taught to be “comfortable” Get you a good paying job with good benefits, pay your bills, and live comfortably. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with that. Simply stating that it doesn’t apply to everyone.

Forgive me but I want to like what I do. Maybe that means I won’t have money rolling in stacks right now, but I’ll get there. I would rather be happy than comfortable at a job. Being uncomfortable forces you to adapt. We are in control. We write our own stories. So do things you always wanted to do but were scared to do. Introduce to yourself to someone you think is “out of your league”, apply for the job that you don’t quite meet all the requirements for.

Life is all about putting yourself out there. I’m seeing that a lot more lately. Being assertive pays off. Stepping out of your comfort zone can open up doors. Speaking your mind pays off. Taking risks sometimes works in your favor. All of this in moderation of course. Never think you know everything and don’t burn bridges.

I don’t want to be that person who sits. back and watches others chase and achieve their dreams. What makes me different? What makes you different? Let’s not look back on life and think “I should have” or “I wish I would have”. We’ve all been in a space where we have seen things in person or in the media and think “I could do that” or “this is what I would do if I were in that position”. I want to put myself in that position. What’s something you have always wanted to do but have never did? What’s stopping you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

